Zumba Gone Bad

Posted on January 5, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

This is going to sound really judgmental because I am not a fitness instructor myself but man I just can’t take it when you get a class and the instructor is horrible. Case in point, the Zumba class I attended last night was a huge bomb in my book all due to the instructor. As I’ve said, I’m doing Barre Method all this month so I’m not going to my usual, beloved gym. Last night, I went to another gym with three co-workers for an hour of Zumba fun. One of my co-workers had some guests passes and we thought it would be fun to go together. (And let me just say, I’ve really been enjoying working out with my coworkers. Between running, Barre Method and Zumba, I’m getting some great workouts in and am being motivated by others. Love it!)

The instructor walked in the super-crowded room (hello, gyms in January!) and announced that she was under the weather and wouldn’t be yelling as much as she usually does. She also said that she wanted to break down a bunch of the new choreography because there were so many people and because so many of us looked new to her. And lastly, she said that if we put 100% effort into this workout today we could burn up to 600 calories in the hour. Ok.

Well I would approximate that out of the 60 minute class we were actually working out for around 40 minutes of it. She took an extremely long time to break down all of the choreography and we went over steps for what felt like dozens of times. And then we would do the routine with the music and it would take a minute or less….after almost 5 minutes of instruction on how to do the moves! Gah!

The most frustrating thing for me is that I kept cooling down between songs and I just didn’t feel like that was helping me have a really effective workout. Also, Zumba doesn’t have levels. It’s welcoming to everyone all the time and it’s not about getting every step perfectly – it’s about moving, getting a great workout and having fun. Last night was not fun.

I’m looking forward to returning to my gym in February where I know the instructors and know that I’ll be getting a great workout when I walk into the fitness studio.

Jess, over at Fit Chick In the City, does a great job of posting class/instructor reviews in NYC. I wish there was something similar for the DC-area. Hmm…

Stephanie

Wednesday’s workout: Barre Method and Zumba
Wednesday’s meals highlights: Both my lunch and dinner were so good! Lunch is pictured below. For dinner I had reduced-sodium tomato soup with a whole wheat tortilla filled with fennel, olives and goat cheese (toasted!). Yum!

Two slices whole wheat bread, hummus, lettuce, tomato, balsamic vinegar with a side of grapes and edamame.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Zumba Gone Bad”

RSS Feed for district delights Comments RSS Feed

Man, I had the opposite experience (still horrible).

My instructor showed us NONE of the moves. She knew some of us were new. But she just said “if you can’t get it, move on to the next step.”

Well, I wasn’t getting any of it. No instruction. At all.

At the end the instructor suggested that maybe Zumba isn’t for me.

Don’t worry, Zumba Instructor Lady, I wasn’t going to come back to your horribly pointless class in which I pay you so that I can flail around like an idiot with no idea of what’s going on.


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

