Back in the Saddle

Posted on January 3, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Happy New Year!! I am ready to put 2011 behind me and have a fresh start in 2012. After a champagne-filled New Years Eve at The Passenger, I gave myself time to recover before attacking my to-do list and making sure I kicked off the year with a positive attitude. I cleaned my apartment, hit the grocery store (which was a disaster zone of people) and ran some errands. I also spent 45 minutes last night doing some food prep work for the week to make my meals easier to put together. It was SUPER easy to take 45 minutes to chop some veggies, make the Universal Flax Seed Dressing and prep some other goodies for the week. I’m definitely going to keep this habit up this year, it’s an easy one and a healthy one.

This morning I started myself on the Flexitarian Diet. There are lots of new items in my fridge and pantry including Flaxseed oil, nutritional yeast and fennel. Even though I shopped at Whole Foods, my groceries were surprisingly cheap. I think it was the lack of meat or fish I bought? Anyway.

Last night I mixed skim milk, rolled oats, slice almonds, chopped apple and honey and this morning it was a delicious bowl of goodness. I guess it was a version of the very blog popular overnight oats. For lunch (and I swear I’m going to take a photo), I have mixed some canned lentils, curry powder, shredded carrots and raisins. This will be warmed up and wrapped in two whole wheat tortillas come lunch time. I also brought some grapes and clementines with me today for snacks. So far so good!

Even though I’m not one for resolutions, I did write down a few goals to get me started for this year. I definitely plan on adding on more and to focus on my birthday goals as I’ve started doing the past few years. So here goes…

By the end of January I will be meatless at least 5 days a week.

By the end of March I will have paid off my Ann Taylor Loft and JCrew credit cards and canceled them.

By the end of June I will have completed the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler and an Olympic triathlon and will be halfway to my goal weight.

By the end of September I will have reached my goal weight.

By the end of December I will have paid off at least half of my credit card debt.

Ugh, did you notice how two of them focus on debt? But I have to be honest with myself and I have to make it a priority this year. I’ve also given myself 9 months to reach my goal weight and part of me thinks this will be no problem and another part of me knows this is going to be a big challenge. With my new focus on a plant-based diet and all the training I have coming up for the 10 miler and the tri, I think I will be off to a good start.

Barre Method tonight to kick-off my 30 day unlimited pass. Woo!!

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

