Welcome 2012

Posted on January 2, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

2011 was a pretty great year.  I got married, two of my very close friends got married, another very best friend had a baby, I committed myself to getting in shape (although oddly enough this happened after the wedding) and I got to spend a lot of time with family!  Oh, and went to Costa Rica for our honeymoon.  If I were to make a 2012 resolution it would be to go back to Costa Rica and buy a house there – yah whatever it’s a long shot, so!

With that said,  I welcome 2012 with open arms. I look forward to what the year has in store for me personally, professionally and with running/races.

We spent our last night of 2011 with my sister, brother in law, nephew and niece.  It was a perfect night filled with board games, ribs and a lot of red wine.

My brother in law makes a mean rib, it’s his dad’s recipe, and I watched him mix the 2 sauces that cover the ribs.  I think the first sauce was vinegar and a lot of salt.  And then honey, steak sauce and brown sugar in the other, but I am likely missing something. In any event, here is what they look like!

The Finished Product

As the old saying goes, eating pork brings good luck because a pig roots forward to look for food, while chickens scratch backward and cows stand still.  We’ll be extra lucky because we also had pork and sauerkraut on New Year’s Day!  (note: pork and sauerkraut does not photograph well.)

I was supposed to run 4 miles on Sunday, but due to my very strong red wine hangover, I opted to skip it on Sunday and move it to Monday.

I woke up this morning feeling pretty well rested and ready to take the Garmin out for our second spin together.  It was a successful run for both of us! I was excited when the satellites were recognized (the little things) and started the watch and went on my way.  It beeped at me after I finished the first mile – at a 9:18 pace, woot.  Full disclosure, the entire first mile is down hill.  2 and 3 were a bit slower and then mile 4 I ran at a 10:23 pace.  I wasn’t psyched that I kept getting slower. Yes, I could tell I was hardly moving during that last mile, but I was holding out hope that I was still under 10 minutes.  I’m sure I could have seen mid mile 4 where I would end up – but I still don’t totally understand all things Garmin.  I did learn an important lesson about myself, I need to be more consistent throughout my runs and not continue to get progressively slower.  Once I finally download the software on my computer, I’ll post each mile and my pace.

I don’t have any specific resolutions for 2012 other than buying our Costa Rican home, of course and just learning to run faster!  That’s about all I got!

Welcome 2012 – Happy New Year!

Addy

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

