My Best Friend Garmin

Posted on December 30, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Today for my half marathon training I had a simple 3 mile run on the training schedule.  Today was also the day for my Garmin to make it’s debut.  Before going for the run, I went to work for a little bit this morning, came home to meet up with Justin and then headed to Friendship Heights for a little food and shopping.

We hit up the Whole Foods hot bar and went straight for the Indian food – I couldn’t resist the chana masala.  Truth be told, I got a little bit of everything, some pulled pork, a little bit of mac and cheese, curry chicken – I mean it was 2 pm and I had eaten breakfast so much earlier!  It was all quite tasty and filling, but not sickly filling.  We did the few shopping errands we had and then headed home.

I was still feeling a little full from lunch, but not enough to keep from me heading out on my run.  I suited up in my new, very fluorescent running jacket.

No cars will hit me!

I put on my Garmin watch and headed outside.  From what I read and what the watch kept beeping at me was that I needed to be outside to reach the satellite signal for the GPS.  I’ll admit now, I did not read A LOT about  how to use the Garmin before this run and that was evident as soon as I got outside.  Let’s just say the Garmin came for a run with me today, but didn’t provide any information back to me.  Luckily, I asked Justin before I left for a new 3 mile route to run, so I didn’t have to rely on time or the fancy new watch to tell me how far I had gone.  The run was not my best, I was feeling weighed down by my lunch and didn’t even feel like I was moving.  That’s not all the surprising, I realize, I’m just glad I only had 3 miles to tackle.

When I got home from the run, I grabbed my reading material for my watch and explored it some more, I am definitely not an expert…yet, but I think I at least learned from my mistake.  Alas, on the next run we’ll really become best of friends!

Addy

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

