Running and Christmas

Posted on December 28, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I wanted to keep a good base of running going while in Costa Rica so that coming back and starting half marathon training wouldn’t kick my butt.  I can in no way compete with this guy, but I did do a few runs with him on the steep, dirt roads.  Those runs killed my calves and instead of continuing on the road, I opted for a beach run in the morning.

A nice view

I had the beach all to myself in the morning, except for a little hermit crab dodging.   The beach wasn’t that long, so I tried to do laps from one side to the other for at least 20 minutes.  The runs were lovely, but also made me sore in new places – like the sides of my calves and my hips.  As sad as it was leaving Costa Rica, it was nice getting back to DC and doing a TRX class and running on some pavement again!

We woke up in DC on Christmas Eve, missing Costa Rica a lot, but happy to start the holiday – and open the presents below.  I was psyched to give Justin his gift, a Bose iPod dock!  We’ve both been coveting the Bose surround sound for some time, but haven’t pulled the trigger, so I figured this was a nice in between.  Justin got me a Garmin watch – woot, now I can officially know all my splits while training for my first half marathon! He also gave me a bike trainer – so I can train on my own bike indoors throughout the cold months.

Our Tree

We left DC for the Central PA tour – celebrated on Christmas Eve with Justin’s family in Halifax then back to his Dad’s house for Christmas morning in Millersburg and then to my parents house in Hummelstown.

My brother always does Christmas dinner right with prime rib and twice baked potatoes.

I might have eaten 2+ of these

I mean, I could have eaten like 5, but then I wouldn’t have had any room for the tasty prime rib, so I drew the line somewhere!

Justin and I were both anxious to get back to DC after only having one night there upon returning home from vacation, but we couldn’t leave without meeting my best friend’s 5 month old baby!  It was a real treat to meet him, he was such a smiley, happy, sweet little baby!!!  I can’t wait to see them again when we visit St. Louis!

We also caught up with Justin’s pal and son for a bit, we played with trains and matchbox cars before heading on our way to DC.

I’m with Stephanie, I love coming home and unpacking and putting everything back in it’s place, it’s one of the most satisfying things.

This week half marathon training has officially begun and so far so good. I swam today instead of running, which felt good to give my legs a little bit of a rest!  I haven’t used the Garmin yet, but as soon as I do, I will report back.  I’ve also decided to check off my work outs on the training sheet that I printed out.  I did this when I did my first triathlon and it held me accountable. Frankly, I’m scared I won’t be able to run for 13.1 miles straight come game day, so I’ll do whatever I have to and then some to make sure I’m prepared!

Now it’s time to stuff my face with the rest of the swedish fish.

Buenas noches y hasta luego.

Addy

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

