Return from Pura Vida

Posted on December 28, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I have been putting off my return from vacation blog post because there is so much to say and I don’t know how to get it all out!   But I will try!  First off, I missed you too, Stephanie!

Costa Rica is simply amazing.  I could not get enough of these sunsets every single night.

We stayed at the Hotel Sugar Beach and as the Lonely Planet book states, “luxury at the hotel is simple and understated.”  I couldn’t agree more, the biggest luxury is the fact that you are right on the beach with maybe 10 other people at any time.  It was hard to leave the hotel and our beach to explore the rest of the area!  The staff here was incredibly friendly and super helpful with planning some of our activities for the week.

We spent a solid 3 days on the beach relaxing, reading, sipping the national beer of Costa Rica and soaking up the sun (I only got a little burnt!)

Soaking up the sun

Sorry for the back to back photos – but I was so proud of this beer picture, I had to get it in somewhere.

Imperial Light, oh so tasty

After we soaked up enough sun, we ventured out for a canopy tour.  We had a driver, Martin, pick us up and drive us on some crazy steep, pot holed roads, through creeks to American tourist central.  It’s brilliant, don’t get me wrong, but there is no question that the 250+ people that come through there during the day are all from the United States. Everything in the gift shop was priced in dollars and you can pay $5 bucks at the end to play with some monkeys in cages.

I had never done zip lining before, our driver and now canopy guide, Martin gave us a quick tutorial and then we were off.  All I needed to know was don’t put your hand in front and use your stronger hand for the brake.  The first go for me was a teeny bit scary, but once I was used to stopping – and not fearing for my life running into the tree, I was golden!

Zipping!

We really picked up some speed along the way and the longest line was 9 1/2 football fields long!

Honeymooners on a zipline

Martin drove us back to our hotel and then it was time for us to get ready for our sunset sail.  We wanted to make sure we got some lunch in before the sail.

at lunch

The food in Costa Rica (only picture of food is below) was good, but nothing amazing.  At this particular meal I had the typical lunch fare, a casado which consists of rice, beans, chicken and usually french fries.  Rice and beans are a definite staple of the diet there.  What is the most amazing thing food wise about Costa Rica is the fruit.  The pineapple, bananas, watermelon and papaya were mouth watering good!

Pineapple, watermelon and bean dip 🙂

The sunset cruise included a snorkel tour, followed by the above food spread.  Those little sandwiches were ham, cheese and ketchup-yum!

I never get psyched about snorkeling, I find the mask to be a pain and having the snorkel in my mouth is usually just annoying.  I prefer to be able to breath out my nose!  I always go along with it for a little while and I do enjoy seeing all the fish swimming by. Lucky for me, this snorkel tour was like no other. Our fearless guide and first mate, Emilio, literally dove down among the rocks to bring fish to us to “pet.”  We got to see AND touch a porcupine fish, a trigger fish – that makes a noise when you push his dorsal fin down, and a freakin octopus. I didn’t want to touch the octopus at first, but then finally did – he immediately suctioned to my finger and when Emilio went to put him back, he sucked off his ring!  Not to fear, he went back for it and found it.

The Sunset

We hit the jackpot with this boat, it was only us and 1 other couple – as I was getting off the boat, I thought I couldn’t feel any more relaxed than I did at that moment.

We briefly visited Playa Grande and Playa Conchal, but our hearts belong to Playa Pan de Azucar – so we went back to our beach for the rest of our time!

Playa Grande

We eeked out the last few minutes of daylight for our final sunset at Sugar Beach, it was bittersweet to be sure.

Watching the final sunset

And fit in one last pina colada.

SO good

The honeymoon was definitely worth the wait and our week in Costa Rica was just perfect!

Addy

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

