Home for the Holidays

Posted on December 28, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I’ve been home in NJ for the past 7 days and man has it been great. It’s just so great to be away from my usual routine and out of the office. I’ve been sleeping in, eating delicious food, spending time with family and just kind of bumming around. I’ll be honest I haven’t worked out at all…except for the one long walk my mom took into town and it rained on us. Score!

In my defense, I think my body needed this break. After arriving on Thursday, I woke up on Friday feeling like complete crap. I thought I had a sinus infection and spent half of the day trying to find someone who takes my insurance so I could get some meds. I ended up at a CVS Minute Clinic – diagnosis ear infection (apparently I’m a 5 year old) and a bagful of antibiotics to kick off Christmas. Yippee!

While it’s been a great visit home and I still have an afternoon of cousins ahead and a dinner with friends, I am looking forward to heading back to DC to the comfort of my apartment. I think I’m going to hit the road tomorrow, hopefully a smooth, traffic-free ride, and get settled into my place and ready for the New Year. I love coming home from a trip and unpacking. I know, nerd-alert! I hate packing but I LOVE unpacking and putting everything away and back in its place. Get some laundry done, hit the grocery store and the gym. Gear up for the first day back at work and kick off 2012 with an organized bang. Yup, I just said organized bang.

My December fitness goals have gone to shit so there is just January ahead which will be filled with Barre Method. Woo!! They just discounted their unlimited monthly pass so it’s an even BETTER deal to sign up for the month of January. So excited! And the best part is that my co-worker is also signing up so we can motivate each other to go to class (especially the early morning ones). I know I said I don’t make resolutions but I have been thinking about what I want to accomplish this year and I have to say that I’m really excited for the new year ahead and I already know it’s going to be a good one.

Ok, enough of this rambling. I’m off to purchase some books on my new Kindle Fire 🙂

Stephanie

Honestly, I’m not even going to go through the workouts/meal highlights for the past five days. This little ditty will recommence in 2012.

P.S. I read Addy’s husband’s recap of their vacay and it sounds amazing. I bet hers will be even better and even more picture filled 🙂 Get pumped!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

