See that girl, watch that scene, diggin’ the dancing queen!

Posted on December 19, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

This past weekend was one of my favorite weekends of the year – annual Christmas tea with my London girls! I studied abroad my junior year of college in London and met three of the most wonderful women in my program. Only one actually went to the my college and the other two had taken the plunge and decided to study through a program outside of their schools. I am so happy that they did or I never would have met them! We usually get together twice a year – once in the spring/summer time and then in December for tea. We have met for Christmas tea for 7 years now and it really is a great tradition.

We started off the weekend just hanging out at my apartment with wine, snacks and delicious hot chocolate.

On Saturday we got all dolled up and headed to the Willard for Christmas tea. We’ve gone to the Willard for 5 years – last year we went to the Mandarin Oriental and the first year we had tea at my apartment – and they really do tea well. Along with an individual pot of tea they have scones (with clotted cream, lemon curd, raspberry and apricot jam), tiny sandwiches and an array of desserts. We get endless refills of hot water and just sit among the lovely holiday decorations and catch up. There was a harp player there this year and while she was a bit earnest at times, it was quite lovely. Have I mentioned this is my favorite weekend of the year?

Following tea, we headed home for some relaxing and to get changed for dinner. We went to Lincoln for dinner. I had been there once before and thought it was good but this dinner experience on Saturday night really blew me away. Every bite was delicious and the service was fantastic. I feel like we ordered one of everything on the menu. After starting off with some delicious cocktails – I had the Gettysburg Address (Beet purée, lemon, Square One Botanical, Veev, barkeep aromatic bitters). Sounds crazy but it was so good! The stand-out dishes were definitely the scallops (we had to order another one so we could all have more), the gnocchi, the kale salad (I bought ingredients to try and recreate it this week) and the brussel sprouts (they really are all the rage right now). I tried to snap some pictures but was not very successful as we dug in.

Sunday morning we went to The Tabbard Inn for their delicious brunch. We were too ravenous to take photos but I had cheesy grits with poaches eggs, pork belly and a tasty spicy sauce. SO. GOOD. After brunch we did some shopping in Dupont and just enjoyed the beautiful weather and soon it was time for everyone to head home. I’m sad to see them all go but know that we have only more good times ahead. I feel like even on this cold Monday morning I am still glowing from my weekend.

Not only have I known these women for 7 years but I still feel so incredibly close to them and can open up to them about anything. Parts of the weekend felt cathartic to me as they listened, gave great advice and shared their highs and lows as well. We are all looking forward to Christmas and a fresh new year ahead.

Stephanie

Saturday and Sunday’s workouts: None
Saturday and Sunday’s meals highlights: EVERYTHING. Literally.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

