Party Prep

Posted on December 14, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

So I’m not really having a party but I am having three guests stay with me this weekend. I feel like I’ve been preparing to have a party though. Last night I did some more cleaning, made sure I had enough clean towels and linens and bought everything for snacks on Friday night. My three houseguests are arriving at various times on Friday so instead of planning a big meal, I got a bunch of munchies.

Friday’s Menu of Goodies
Brie & Gouda
Flatbread
Proscuitto
Olives
Hummus
Spinach & Artichoke Dip
Chips & Salsa
Hot Chocolate Bar – hot coco, marshmallows, candy canes, toffee, whipped cream, three types of shaved chocolate and Bailey’s
Wine

I also busted out my Williams-Sonoma Snowman set that includes dessert plates, mugs and spoons! I forgot I had received the set as a gift from my Aunt almost 5 years ago and this is my first time using it. I didn’t get a mini tree this year because Whole Foods keeps selling out of them and I was too lazy to grab one each time a new stock came in. I’m heading home in about a week anyway and will decorate my Mom’s tree. She always saves a box of ornaments for me to put on. But I do have a few decorations out to make the apartment a little more festive than usual.

The rest of the weekend will be filled with our annual Christmas tea at the Willard, dinner at Lincoln and brunch at the delicious Tabbard Inn. I’m so excited! Too bad it’s on Wednesday…

I love hosting. It’s true. I love putting out a great spread and having people come over and really enjoy their time at my place. Though I don’t plan to be, I probably would really make a great stay-at-home mother. Who knows, I can’t say how my life will turn out. Maybe I have a second career coming in the form of party planning 🙂

Stephanie

Tuesday’s workout: Zumba!
Tuesday’s meals highlight: Dinner…Annie Chung’s Black Pearl Instant Rice with a sunny side egg and some soy sauce. It’s my favorite dinner and is made in under 10 minutes. Yum!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

