Monday Musings

Posted on December 12, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Holy weekend, Batman! What a great weekend filled with so much fun, friends and food. I swear, I’m going to start taking pictures of all the delicious food I eat. Pinky swear. My Friday, unfortunately started off with a wake for a former colleague which is always difficult. However, it was good to see some DC folks I haven’t seen in awhile and Addy and I were able to catch up with a good friend over some delicious Thai food at Rice. Great Thai spot in the neighborhood and we didn’t even need a reservation for a busy Friday night.

Saturday, I was up bright and early to work at a 5 mile “extreme” run for the organization I coach field hockey for in the spring. Nothing like a bunch of Dad’s coming out in their spandex to support their kids. I spent an hour and a half freezing in the woods at an “extreme” station waiting for the runners to come through. I actually ended up getting a pretty good workout by doing step-ups on risers, lunges, squats and jumping jacks. I needed to pass the time AND keep warm. Later that night my legs were sore and I realized it was from my killer leg workout that morning. Bam!

On Sunday, I headed to FedEx Field for the third time this season (you’d think I was a Redskins fan but that’s a negative). It was a gorgeous day for a tailgate and I cheered for the lesser of two evils – Skins! – but unfortunately they fell short on a win. At least my G-Men pulled through with a HUGE win later that night. Staying up until midnight, screaming at the top of my lungs may not be the best way to start the week but oh man, what a game. Eli Manning, I give you grief but you are a baller. Between these two games I grabbed dinner at District Commons with some girlfriends from college. Again, did not take any pictures of the food…We all really enjoyed our meals and they had great service. I’ll definitely be back again!

After an action-packed weekend, I woke up this morning to find out that I was accepted into the Cherry Blossom 10-miler next spring! Woo!! I’ve never run it before but everyone always talks about what a great race it is and I love the fact that it’s in D.C. After doing 9.3 miles this winter, I’m sure I can pull off 10 miles come spring. I’m worried I’m turning into a runner. Eeek! So that’s two races I’m officially signed up for next year. I think I’m going to add one more for May before the end of this year (which will mean a race in April, May and June) and then will fill in the summer/fall of next year slowly in 2012.

Stephanie

I’m waaaaay behind on posting my daily workouts/meal highlights so here goes:

Thursday’s workout: Barre Method and it was KILLER.
Thursday’s meals highlight: Chipotle…

Friday’s workout: None
Friday’s meals highlight: The roasted brussel sprout appetizer we had at the Thai place. It was AMAZING!

Saturday’s workout: My hanging out in the woods leg workout and a 1 mile run.
Saturday’s meals highlight: Sandwich from Jetties

Sunday’s workout: None
Sunday’s meals highlight: Pretzel baguette with Dijon mustard butter at District Commons – perfect way to start the meal!

Not my best streak of workouts or the healthiest of meals but today is the start of a new week and there is always the chance to do better.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

