Beauty and the Beast (Except there is no beast in this post, I just really wanted to use that title)

Posted on December 8, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I don’t know how exactly to describe my style. I’d say it’s a mix between classic, trendy and lazy. DVF didn’t just describe her last collection as lazy? Of course not. Lazy is not a real style. But I’ll talk more about clothes in another post because this one is about my beauty routine.

Last week I signed up for Birchbox. The blog Capitol Hill Style talks about this beauty program a lot on both her blog and Twitter. And then I recently saw a bunch of Facebook friends posting pictures of their just-delivered boxes of deluxe beauty goodies. Naturally, I was jealous and intrigued. For $10/month, Birchbox will send you a box filled with generous samples of the latest beauty products. You can find more information on membership here. You can cancel at any time, there is no contract and for $10/month I figured I’d cut back on a latte or two and give myself a holiday treat. My first box comes in January and I can’t wait. And of course I’ll have a full review as well.

Right now, my typical morning routine looks like this. Shower, either blow dry hair/blow dry hair AND straighten hair/ “curl” hair/put hair up in a bun, then put on 5-minutes worth of make-up, then walk out the door. On the weekends I’ll just take more time doing it, but the routine in the same. I use a variety of products and some of them are pricey while others are regularly purchased at CVS.

Honestly, I go waaaay too long between haircuts and I regularly wear my glasses so I don’t have to put on eye make-up (and I have gotten in the habit of bringing my make up to work and putting in on there…at my desk…how tacky), but I do like to look nice and put together. I remember at a crazy chapter meeting in college one Sunday night, I had been running around all day with commitments to other organizations and of course, pesky school work, and an older sister turned to me and said that no matter when she saw me, I always looked so put together. While that may not necessarily be true, I have remembered that compliment over the years and try to keep it in mind when I’m getting ready to leave my apartment.

I’m looking forward to expanding my beauty routine and maybe finding some products that work better for me. Bring in on Birchbox, let’s DO this!

Stephanie

Wednesday’s workout: None because I didn’t get up in the morning and got my party on that evening…
Wednesday’s meals highlight: Guacamole, chips and a variety of soft tacos at my work holiday party. DELICIOUS. Oh right, and a ton of sangria and wine. Whoops.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

