Holiday Hoopla

Posted on December 6, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

December is quite the month. It’s amazing that it’s only December 6th and I feel like my calendar is out of control for this month. Holiday receptions, parties, dinners, cookie exchanges….the list goes on and on. If I were living in a movie, I would buy a new outfit for every event, take cabs to all these fun locations and eat and drink my way through all of the delicious holiday goodies. However, this is the real world and not only am I trying to lose weight and get in better shape, but Christmas shopping has already drained a good portion of my bank account for this month.

So, what’s a girl to do?

She learns to say no. Saying no is something I’m am constantly working on in my life. I know, it sounds crazy, but I continually overbook myself and commit to things that I really don’t want to do. This needs to stop so I can spend time on the things I truly enjoy and spend time with the people that mean the most to me.

I do wish that I could attend everything this month but it’s just not realistic. This is the year I’m going to take control of the holiday season and really enjoy every moment. I will wrap up my Christmas shopping (2 more things to buy!), whip up a large batch of peppermint bark (but no cookies) and I will make time to go to the gym and take care of myself. What better way to start the new year than to have a great December?

On a completely different note, I think I’m going to start posting my workout from the day before and maybe a meal highlight (if there is one, and seeing as how I usually bring my breakfast and lunch, there probably won’t be one frequently).

Monday’s workout: 30 minute treadmill run, day 1 of the 100 pushup challenge
Monday’s meals highlight: BBQ at Hill Country (free too!)

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

