Hot Chocolate, Baby Shower and A Christmas Tree

Posted on December 5, 2011. Filed under: Races, Uncategorized |

This weekend was extremely productive.  I hosted a baby shower at my home (more on that in a later post), ran a not so well organized 5k and got a Christmas tree, like our first real Christmas tree.

First thing Saturday morning I woke up to drive out to the National Harbor for the Hot Chocolate 5k/15k.  My husband was supposed to run the 15k, but decided he didn’t really want to wake up at the crack of dawn to run 9 miles.  Turns out, he totally had the right idea all along.  I picked up a co-worker on the way and think we were one of the lucky ones because it only took us 30 minutes to park.  The traffic was lined up for from all directions for miles.  Once we parked, we walked almost 20 minutes to the start line.  On the way, we heard the 5k was likely starting 15 minutes late, fine I thought, I can handle 15 minutes.  Turns out, it was actually delayed 45 minutes.  The race organizers completely underestimated the massive amount of people coming in for this race!

You can see the anxiety/annoyance in everybody!

Lucky for me, while I was waiting in the corral to start the race, I spotted from afar my fellow sparkle skirt, district delights co-hort, Stephanie.  She ran the 15k and totally owned it!!!  But I will let her tell you how awesome she is in her own words!

Here we are, pre-race in our sparkle glory

Once the race started for me, my feet were numb from standing around, but I tried to dart around everyone to finally get warm.  Unfortunately, we started running down a very small walking path, so it was hard to manauever around everybody, but finally the path widened a little and the crowd thinned out a bit and I was able to do my thing.  I felt good through the whole race, struggled a bit the last 1/2 mile uphill, but achieved my goal of per mile pace and I finished in 28:20, a 5k PR for me!

Post race at home

After the race, I peaced out of there so quickly, I had no interest in the hot chocolate or the chocolate fondue – after the delay of the start, I wanted to get out of there before I ran into another shitshow.

I came home to get ready for the baby shower, which was a huge success, I must say.  I didn’t take pictures at all, but one of the other hosts did – once she sends me some, I’ll do a proper post!

Today we got our very first *real* Christmas tree. I say real because the last two years we’ve gotten trees, but they’ve been miniature.  This tree is 7 foot and a real beauty!

My tree friend

We ended up buying it at our Whole Foods across the street.  Justin carried that tree all the way home, and admitted it was quite a bicep workout!

After we got the tree, I did a few errands and then met up with my nephew to take him to his swim lesson and grab some take out dinner at Comet Ping Pong!

Once home for the evening, Justin and I got some lights on the tree and then discovered that we didn’t buy the hangers for the decorative balls we bought, I’ll have to hit up Ace Hardware again tomorrow.

So here she is in all her light glory, more tree trimming photos to come!

Addy

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

