Avoiding the Post-Race Slump

Posted on December 5, 2011. Filed under: Races, Uncategorized |

Even though it’s the second week in December, I wanted to put together some December fitness goals. I always find that after I do a race, I completely fall off the work out bandwagon. I don’t know if it’s because I was so focused on a training program or because I mentally think that I’ve done A LOT but I need to not make it a habit. Also, with holiday parties right and left, this is NOT the time to be slacking on working out. I should be ramping up my workouts so I can enjoy more goodies during the holiday season.

So here are my December fitness goals/plan:

Get back on the wagon with running right away with Fitness Magazine’s “Running for Weight Loss” training plan. I love this training plan. It’s treadmill friendly, which is perfect for a cold month like December, and a nice way for me to start getting good use out of my pricey gym again. It’s fun training for a race but I did a lot of running outdoors and felt guilty paying my gym fees when I was barely there.

Get back to the gym classes I love – Zumba, Body Pump, Step, etc. One of the reasons I really love my gym, besides the fact that it is literally less than a block away from my apartment, is the variety of classes it offers. They have a ton of great morning classes and even classes as late as 8pm on weeknights and they really all work with my schedule. They also offer a ton of great weekend classes, including yoga as late at 6:00pm on Sunday. So, I really need to start taking advantage of these classes again because they are also a great way to get in a workout on days when I really just feel like sitting on my couch.

Participate in the 100 pushups challenge. This has been all over the blogosphere and I’m ready to get on board. I can also only do 10 push-ups on my knees…barely. Wish me luck on this one.

I think these are three reasonable fitness goals for December. I still need to figure out where I’m going to workout when I’m at home for a week. I am tempted to join my Mom at some of her Zumba classes…

Looking forward to 2012, my co-worker and I are taking the plunge into the Barre Method and are devoting the month of January to the practice. I put a freeze on my gym account and will be doing only Barre Method 3-5 times a week for the month of January. I hope to increase my flexibility dramatically and gain some great core strength before I plunge back into training for running races and triathlons.

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions. I make birthday year resolutions. Considering my birthday is in March, I still have a few months to figure out what I want to accomplish to make my 29th year my best. I’m excited just thinking about it!

Stephanie

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

