D.C. to NYC

Posted on November 24, 2011. Filed under: Uncategorized |

People from New York City often try to compare Washington, D.C. to their city.  In reality, D.C. can never really stack up to New York, but that doesn’t mean D.C. doesn’t have a lot to offer in it’s own right.  After all most of the inspiration for our blog name is the city in which we live.  While I did have a blast exploring NYC this past weekend, I’m always happy to return to my home.

I traveled to New York with my husband, Justin, to visit our friend Emily.  As soon we got to town, we made our way to get some yummy bagels.  En route,  we spotted Rebecca Romijn, Jerry O’Connell and their twins!  Really great celebrity sighting 1 hour into our weekend!

As we continued to walk around Emily’s neighborhood, I couldn’t get over the convenience of everything, around the corner from her place she has a movie theater, within one block of her place there is a Lululemon store!  And right next door to her apartment is a cute little coffee shop for all your chai tea needs.

In Washington Square Park

Maybe its the neighborhood where I live now here that makes me miss all those things in arms reach.  Admittedly, I’m not necessarily in the most happening part of D.C., but I do at least get the urban feel, I walk to all the necessary places for my daily errands and have the convenience of public transportation at my fingertips.  I cannot, however, walk to Lululemon – ultimately a good thing.

Overall what I’m trying to say is that New York City can’t be beat, it’s an amazing city, where the big lights do indeed inspire you, but D.C. has been my home for the last 8 years and I can’t think of a better place to be!

Gratuitous sunset photo from tonight on our balcony!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

