Olympic Fever!

Posted on June 25, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Happy Start of the Swimming Olympic Trials!!!   The Trials begin today in Omaha, NE and run through July 2.  The finals are on live at 8 pm every night!  Tonight we will get to watch both the men’s and women’s 400 IM and the men’s 400 free finals.   I have been stalking the USA Swimming website all morning to see who has qualified for the finals.  Ryan Lochte is ahead of Michael Phelps by 4 seconds – cannot wait to watch them race tonight!!!

I am definitely in full on Olympic spirit.  I didn’t watch any of the track trials this weekend, but I did read this article today and can’t believe these two ladies will likely have a run off at the end of the trials!

All weekend I was patiently awaiting Monday to get here so I could silently or not so silently obsess over the swimming events today and then watch tonight!

I still did enjoy the weekend.  Justin and I went to dinner at Ris on Saturday night. I’ve been wanting to try it out since it opened and glad Justin suggested we check it out.  Justin started with a grilled octopus salad. I tried a few of the greens and it was perfectly light and lemony.  I ordered two kinds of cheese to start, but they were nothing special – they were just like my selection of Whole Foods cheeses, I should have just gotten a salad or tried one of the small plates for something more interesting.

For dinner, I had the veal with risotto and broccoli rabe, a special for the evening.  It was tasty, had good flavor.  Was a tiny bit fatty, but that’s probably the nature of the meat, I had no trouble eating it all.

We finished the night with a fave of Justin’s, the butterscotch pudding.  I probably would not have chosen it, but it turned out to be fantastic because of the little cocoa crisps that were sticking out of it – not to mention the whipped cream was divine!

In a previous Five Things Friday post, I mentioned this dress, well I did end up buying it and I LOVE it!

It is the perfect weekend dress and so comfortable.  Online it looks much more yellowy than it does in person, but it’s still a great color.  I actually kind of want to buy another…red/gray, maybe?  Or blue and white with some red for the Olympics – that would be my dream dress right now.

Happy Swimming Trials Viewing/Stalking!!!

Addy

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,382 other followers

