Pasta Weekend

Posted on February 13, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

My weekend was book ended by yummy pasta meals.  Friday night, I made arugula pesto. Unfortunately, it was a little too overpowered by garlic. I wanted to put it back in the food processor and mix in more cheese and arugula, but didn’t have the energy to use the food processor again.  I mean, I still ate two helpings of pasta with the pesto, but I smelled like garlic all weekend.

Saturday night, Justin and I went to dinner at Buck’s Fishing and Camping.  We used a Living Social deal there for 50% off.  I ordered the cheeseburger with jack cheese and spicy mayo. Justin got the sirloin steak.  My burger was good, his steak was amazing, it had a great amount of butter and the wood grill just made it taste so good.

We finished our night with a little beer pong at a friend’s house.  Justin and I did not win, sadly, but I did come out with a win at Wii bowling!

Sunday was my longest run yet, 7 miles.  I ran from River Road down the Capital Crescent Trail to Georgetown.  It’s such a nice and peaceful run.  I was worried about the cold, my knee and a little bit about the mileage.  The cold was fine, the distance was good (except when I thought I was almost at 5 miles and really I had only done 4, that was annoying) and my knee held up for most of the run. It hurt a little, but not to the point of not being able to run.   I got home and foam rolled and stretched it out.  New goal – 10-15 minutes of stretching pre and post run and continue with more foam rolling.

I found a place to grab a hot chocolate before Justin picked me up in Georgetown.  I also scooped up a yummy baguette and a hot dog smothered in cheese and bread.  I don’t have a picture of the hot dog, but the baguette appeared for some pre dinner snacking.

Dinner Appetizer

Justin made a tasty pasta dish with left over marinara sauce from the mozzarella sticks last weekend.  He also melted an entire block of Cabot cheddar cheese in a saucepan to mix with the pasta…brilliant new way to make mac and cheese!

Pasta, Cheese, Pesto, Marinara, Arugula, Bread

Please note, that is not the same pesto from Friday night – I didn’t need to continue to enhance my garlic smell already.  I would like to continue with the carbo loading today, but I may just have to settle for a salad.

Addy

 

 

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,382 other followers

