Homemade 5k Race

Posted on February 5, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized |

On tap for this week’s run according to Hal Higdon was a 5k race.  I failed to find a convenient race location wise this weekend, so I planned to run a 5k route in my neighborhood that I had done in October.  Since it was technically a race day today, the training schedule had me rest on Saturday.  I, however, did not rest. I did my regular TRX class and then pushed it a little further and tried the 45 minute washboard abs class immediately after TRX.  It was brutal!  It hurts to laugh, cough and generally move today!

This morning, I headed out for my own personal 5k race.  Stephanie and I ordered some nice new stripey leg warmers from Team Sparkle and they arrived yesterday.  As I was waking up this morning, I decided I would wear my green sparkle skirt and new leg warmers to pump me up for my “race” today.

Justin shook his head and felt a little embarrassed for me as I set out in my fun little ensemble.

My legs were heavy for the start of the run and remained that way throughout, but like the beginning of most of my runs, I started off fast and downhill!  My first two miles were close to 8:00 and 8:30.  The 3rd mile was the most brutal heading back up that hill.  I felt super slow and just wanted to be done, but the hill kept going!  I finally finished and just under 10:00.

Trying to capture those leg warmers any way I can

The first two miles really helped keep my average nice and low.

The rest of the day I am preparing for our Superbowl party.  We will definitely be having  some of this and a lot of these.  There will also be some chips, guac, jamon iberico and sausage.

Happy Superbowl Day – Go Giants (for Stephanie)!  But also go Pats, because I made a bet with my nephew that if the Giants wins, I buy him a Zhu Zhu pet (sorry, Tracy)!  And if the Pats win, he has to get me something – we discussed chocolate or some stationery.

Addy

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Homemade 5k Race”

RSS Feed for district delights Comments RSS Feed

Go Pats indeed!

the zhu zhu will have a lovely new home with us. and maybe sometimes with you…


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    Two friends living and working in Washington, D.C. writing about life, food, fashion, design and living an active lifestyle…so, basically everything!

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,382 other followers

